Fathers Day Walkthrough

As promised, here is a brief step-by-step walkthrough of my latest concoction.

First, I start off by creating a rough sketch in Illustrator using a Wacom Pen and Tablet. ( A Wacom is not needed for this process, but it does make things a little easier.)

fathers-day-1

Next, I begin to vectorize the image in Illustrator using the pen tool.

fathers-day-2continue vectorizing…

fathers-day-3

fathers-day-4Next I add the base for the background, and begin to add a few gradients to my sketch for a little depth.

fathers-day-5Still in Illustrator, I begin to add some background elements.

fathers-day-6I continue adding background elements to “dirty up” the design a bit. Still Using Illustrator.

fathers-day-7Last step in Illustrator, I add just a small final touch.

fathers-day-8Now I create a new document in Photoshop and individually copy and paste each elemet from Illustrator into my new Photoshop document. For example, I take the background base as it’s own layer, background elements separately etc… This way, I can easily apply different transparency modes and settings to each layer individually without much fuss.

fathers-day-9Next I add some textures to the layers individually using different opacity levels and transparency modes.

fathers-day-10After making some extra touches in Photoshop, I begin making the manipulation to “place” the design on a cardboard paper background using a clipping mask and an assortment of watercolor textures and brushes.

fathers-day-11I finish masking the image, adding some scratches and additional water color textures and stains.

fathers-day-12Finally, I resize the image, make some color corrections, and sharpen the image up a bit.

fathers-day-xAnd in a short breath, that’s pretty much it. You can view the final image at a larger size here.

4 responses to “Fathers Day Walkthrough

  1. thanks man. I shall try something like this! πŸ™‚

    keep up the good work!

  2. sadmonkeydesign

    Hey, you’re welcome! Let me know if you have any questions, or would like to see something else. Glad to help!

  3. nice work daniel πŸ˜€

  4. sadmonkeydesign

    Hey, thanks man!